Todd Pedersen, CEO and founder of Vivint, was inducted into the David Eccles School of Business Hall of Fame at a ceremony on Friday, March 6 at the St. Regis Deer Valley in Park City.

Pedersen has skyrocketed from running a pest-control business out of a single-wide trailer in 1992 to being named Ernst and Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year in 2010 for Vivint, which now boasts 7,000 employees and 900,000 customers. Vivint is now the second largest residential security and home automation provider in North America.

A keystone moment for Pedersen was the acquisition of Vivint by The Blackstone Group for more than $2 billion in 2012, the largest tech buyout in Utah history. The previous year, Pedersen launched Vivint Solar, which completed a successful IPO in October 2014 and is now the second largest residential solar provider in the country. In 2013, Vivint was ranked number 46 on Forbes’ list of America’s Most Promising Companies.

Pedersen joins esteemed company in the David Eccles School of Business Hall of Fame, which recognizes individuals whose achievements are models for present and future students.

“It is an honor to be named to the David Eccles School of Business Hall of Fame,” said Pedersen. “Utah has become a hub for technology and innovation, and I’m impressed with the entrepreneurial curriculum at the University of Utah. I hope my work will inspire the many talented alums of the university and the entrepreneurs who will graduate from the Eccles School.”

About the David Eccles School of Business Hall of Fame

Plaques highlighting each member’s significant accomplishments and contributions to the community are displayed outside the Bill and Pat Child Family Community Hall in the Spencer Fox Eccles Business Building.

The list of Eccles School Hall of Fame members includes:

1988 – Spencer F. Eccles, Chairman Emeritus, Wells Fargo Intermountain Banking

1988 – Richard l. Warner, Former Chairman, Rick Warner Enterprises

1989 – George W. Romney, Former Governor, Michigan

1990 – Joseph Rosenblatt, Former Chairman, Eimco Corporation

1991 – David C. Evans, Founder, Evans and Sutherland

1992 – Kendall D. Garff, Chairman and CEO, GarffEnterprises

1993 – June M. Morris, Former President and CEO, Morris Travel Group

1994 – Robert W. Keener, Retired President and CEO, Northwest Pipeline Corporation

1995 – J. Willard Marriott, Jr., Chairman, President and CEO, Marriott International

1996 – William H. Child, Chairman and CEO, R.C. Willey

1997 – Jon M. Huntsman, Sr., Chairman and Founder, Huntsman Corporation

1998 – Scott S. Parker, IHC President Emeritus

1999 – Ezekiel R. Dumke, Jr., President, Dumke Investments

2000 – John W. Gallivan, Publisher Emeritus, Salt Lake Tribune 2001 - Pierre Lassonde, President, Newmont Mining

2001 – Claudette MacKay-Lassonde, Chairman and CEO, Enghous Systems

2002 – Dr. Rodney H. Brady, President and CEO, Deseret Management

2003 – James L. Sorenson, President, Sorenson Development

2004 – Larry H. Miller, Owner, Larry Miller Enterprises

2005 – Leon W. "Pete" Harman, Founder, Harman Management Corporation

2005 – Earl Holding, Owner, Sinclair Oil Co., Little America Hotels

2006 – Robert L. Rice, Founder, European Health Spas; President, Rice Industries

2007 – Eugene K. England, President, C.R. England, Inc.

2007 – William K. England, Former Chairman of the Board, C.R. England, Inc.

2008 – Stephen R. Covey, Author, Co-founder and Vice Chairman, FranklinCovey

2009 – Barbara Zimonja, President and CEO, Premier Resorts

2011 – Robert Garff, Chairman, Garff Enterprises

2012 – James Lee Sorenson, Entrepreneur

2013 – Ellis Ivory, Founder, Ivory Homes

2014 – Todd Pedersen, CEO and Founder, Vivint

About the David Eccles School

Founded in 1917 in Salt Lake City, the David Eccles School of Business offers eight undergraduate majors, four MBAs, five other graduate programs, a PhD program, and executive education offerings. The Eccles School operates the country’s largest student-run venture capital fund with $18.3 million. It is home to the Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute and Sorenson Center for Discovery and Innovation. Approximately 4,500 students are enrolled in its undergraduate, graduate and executive degree programs. For more information, visit or call 801-581-7676.